Lisette's List

Lisette's List

A Novel

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
-- Girl in Hyacinth Blue, Luncheon of the Boating Party, -- 4. Learn what makes a painting great With German forces spreading across Europe, the sudden fall of Paris, and the rise of Vichy France, Lisette sets out to locate the paintings ( -- Praise for -- -- The Boston Globe -- -- From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York [New York] : Random House, [2014]
ISBN: 9780812996852
0812996852
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

e
EmilyEm
Jun 25, 2017

Parisian Lisette finds herself transplanted to Provence when she and her husband take care of his ailing list-keeping grandfather who also happens to own some noteworthy paintings.

In this latest addition to Vreeland’s works of historical fiction about art and artists, readers are in Vichy France in WW II with a young war widow in a small town with issues of resistance and collaboration part of its moral mix and the story of the Nazis rapacious hunt for artwork to loot adding intrigue. Then, there’s the art appreciation piece for four giants in French art—Pissarro, Cezanne, Picasso and Chagall. Oh, and, Lisette's lists! Typical Vreeland. Her vivid over-reaching imagination stretched mine a little.

RidnLibn Sep 01, 2016

This is a fascinating story for lovers of French Impressionist art. The history is wonderful, though the plot is a little thin. Read for descriptions of glorious Provence and insight into what artists see.

p
PeggyJ_0
Feb 01, 2016

This is a terrific book! It's so big, I thought it would take forever to read. In the end, I didn't want it to come to an end. Great characters, great writing, great story. I'm not an art person, I learned so much from a book of fiction!

1
1_Great_Book
Mar 13, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed, even though I tend to stay away from World War II novels (there are so many).
This one is fresh because of the art theme, and takes place in a small village.
The author did a fine job of 'creating' a couple of paintings while incorporating authentic details.
I think the girl with the goat would have been my favourite, too. I agree that it is a bit wordy, but the authentic humanity of the characters more than makes up for it.

booklady413 Jan 26, 2015

A very interesting book that art lover's will find to their liking. Sometimes it became a bit wordy, and I would have preferred a different ending.

r
ryner
Nov 04, 2014

When Lisette and her husband André receive urgent word that André's grandfather's health is failing, they abandon their cosmopolitan Parisian life and blossoming careers and relocate to the the Provençal countryside, where rustic village life awaits them. Lisette is especially disillusioned by all she has left behind, particularly when she learns that Pascal's home is lacking even running water, but she takes solace in a collection of paintings hanging in her new home and in growing to love Pascal himself as her own grandfather. As WWII threatens, André leaves to defend his country, but not before secretly hiding the paintings from even Lisette. As an owner of a woefully analytical brain and an "underappreciator" of art in general, I'm nevertheless drawn inexplicably to Susan Vreeland's evocative tales surrounding art history. I was afraid at first that I would not be able to sympathize with Lisette. She comes off as unbearably whiny as the story opens, but thankfully her attitude improves, and one could even go so far as to say she eventually embraces her new life in this small village. Lisette's story is both inspiring and heartbreaking.

u
Uniticchi
Oct 09, 2014

Susan Vreeland is one of my favorite authors of art-oriented fiction. This book made me want to pick up a paintbrush even though I am not a painter. I am looking forward to my next visit to the Art Institute's Impressionist collection so I can look at it in a new way.

debwalker Aug 21, 2014

A Parisian woman in Provence during World War II - sounds like a recipe for a wonderful immersive weekend read. Or maybe next summer's trip to Flayosc. Nope, can't wait that long.

APlazek Jul 13, 2014

Lisette’s List by Susan Vreeland

Lisette’s List artfully evokes a sense of time and place – you can smell the lavender and hear the Mistral. Lisette is a young Parisian newlywed when she and her husband, Andre are summoned to Roussillon in southern France just before World War II to care for his ailing Grandfather, Pascal.
Upon arriving they discover Pascal is not nearly as ill as previously thought, but nonetheless remain to care for him in his small Provencal village. Pascal’s sparse home contains 7 works of art by famous impressionists, but not even a cushion for the hard chairs and wooden settee. The stories behind the paintings are the reason for the summons. Pascal knew each of the painters and longs for Andre and Lisette to learn about and appreciate the art, as they are his legacy. His advises to Lisette to “do the important things first” inspiring her to create a list of life goals that she titles Lisette’s List of Hungers and Vows.

Vreeland weaves the story of these fictional characters into a beautiful story of love, loss, war, family and belonging with a glimpse into the lives of Cezanne, Pissarro and Chagall. This novel will appeal to fans of The Monument Men or Peter Mayle.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top