I Let You Go

I Let You Go

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
51
1
1
-- I Let You Go At the same time, the novel tracks the pair of Bristol police investigators trying to get to the bottom of this hit-and-run. As they chase down one hopeless lead after another, they find themselves as drawn to each other as they are to the frustrating, twist-filled case before them. Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner *Peter James, author of Want You Dead From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York :, B, Berkley Books,, 2016
ISBN: 9781101987513
1101987510
0751554162
0751554170
0751554154
0425987493
1101987499
151001778X
0451488598
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
TashD Apr 11, 2018

A very intense and emotional read. The deep wounds of the main character unfold throughout the book. A thriller that keeps you guessing and wondering until the end.

Comment
SquamishLibraryStaff May 31, 2016

'I let you go' is a heart pounding psychological thriller. Well formed distinct characters and a page turning plot make this one novel not to miss. For fans of 'Gone Girl' and 'Girl on the Train'.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
Bean1988
Oct 16, 2018

Loved this book. One of the best books I've ever read. This one stayed with me for quite a while. Quite a haunting tale.

k
Kayelmills
Oct 13, 2018

One of THE best mysteries I have read. Now, STOP READING the other reviews because some of the reviewers are mistaken about the ending and others give away the end. Honestly, that is so unnecessary and annoying! It completely ruins the "MYSTERY" aspect of the book.
Suffice it to say, immediately upon finishing "I Let You Go," I requested all of Clare Mackintosh's books!

l
lajenks1
Sep 18, 2018

I enjoyed this book and it was full of suspense. I recommend it.

w
weezie1
Jul 30, 2018

An emotional read. On a rainy afternoon a mothers life is shattered by a driver. Jenna tries to start a new life and finds love with a gentlemen at the beach. The things she ran away from come back to tear her life apart. I could not put this book down and the end will be great read for anyone. July 2018

PimaLib_JB Jun 11, 2018

A postcard of any message you like, written on a picturesque beach, to be washed away by seafoam. Someone stumbling across that website would never guess the dark, intertwining stories leading to that charming conceit. A good psychological thriller for people who also appreciate a cozy setting and slower pace.

j
Justsaymo01
May 29, 2018

At the end I find out the author was a police officer and lost her son. This book she can relate to and it is very well written. Hard to predict where it is going next. I will have to check out some of her other books.

TashD Apr 11, 2018

A very intense and emotional read. The deep wounds of the main character unfold throughout the book. A thriller that keeps you guessing and wondering until the end.

f
firefly5
Mar 14, 2018

Excellent book! This is the first time I have read this author and I will definately read her books again! This is a very well written story with an amazing twist! This story is told from the perspective of three people and so well done that it is not difficult to keep the three people separated. The description of the landscape is so vivid I could see it and almost feel the sea spray. All the characters in the book are completely believable and I found myself "talking" to them. ie: to the police officer.... 'don't get involved'! Recommend this book!

m
MplsPeggy
Mar 13, 2018

Far more complex and interesting than your average suspense novel (Grisham, Patterson, etc.). Character development is much better than expected. Forewarning of an impending plot twist was a bit heavy handed, but it kept me reading and still managed to feel surprising.

c
cidyer
Mar 11, 2018

I read this book just after reading The Woman In the Window which I really liked. The problem I found is that compared to The Woman In the Window I didn't find I Let You Go as well written. The book started out really well, but as it went on I was disappointed at how slowly it unfolded and I found that I would have liked to see a stronger character in Jenna. Her life circumstances led her to be in an abusive relationship, however I would have liked if she would have stopped punishing herself for losing people in her life, and advocate for a healthier self. I also found the ending twist regarding Ian to be just too contrived. The only person that I found likable in the book was Patrick, the vet and her new friend in the community she moved to.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

m
mikeandfel2
Jul 08, 2016

mikeandfel2 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

a
AnnieN_1
Aug 19, 2018

Jenna or Jennifer is married to Ian; a very creepy, clever, controlling man. Her life becomes somewhat of a nightmare, and she ends up almost being convicted for killing a five year old boy, whom she confesses she has killed; but through various twists and turns she is released into a nail biter ending.
Had a tough time getting into the book but eventually it lured me in, and then I couldn't put it down.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
SPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top