Music and the Skillful Listener

Music and the Skillful Listener

American Women Compose the Natural World

eBook - 2013
Rate this:
For Denise Von Glahn, listening is that special quality afforded women who have been fettered for generations by the maxim ""be seen and not heard."" In Skillful Listeners, Von Glahn explores the relationship between listening and musical composition focusing on nine American women composers inspired by the sounds of the natural world:Amy Beach, Marion Bauer, Louise Talma, Pauline Oliveros, Joan Tower, Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, Victoria Bond, Libby Larsen, and Emily Doolittle. Von Glahn situates ""nature composing"" among the larger tradition of nature writing and argues that, like their litera.
Publisher: Bloomington ; Indianapolis : Indiana University Press, [2013]
ISBN: 9780253007933
Characteristics: 1 online resource (xiii, 397 pages)


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at SPL

To Top