The Devil You Know

The Devil You Know

eBook - 2007
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Felix Castor is a freelance exorcist, and London is his stamping ground. At a time when the supernatural world is in upheaval and spilling over into the mundane reality of the living, his skills have never been more in demand. A good exorcist can charge what he likes - and enjoy a hell of a lifestyle - but there's a risk: sooner or later he's going to take on a spirit that's too strong for him. After a year spent in retirement Castor is reluctantly drawn back to the life he rejected and accepts a seemingly simple exorcism case - just to pay the bills, you understand. Trouble is, the more he discovers about the ghost haunting the archive, the more things don't add up. What should have been a perfectly straightforward exorcism is rapidly turning into the Who Can Kill Castor First Show, with demons, were-beings and ghosts all keen to claim the big prize. But that's OK; Castor knows how to deal with the dead. It's the living who piss him off.
Publisher: New York : Warner Books, 2007
Edition: 1st Warner Books ed
ISBN: 9780446197168
0446197165
9780446197144
0446197149
Characteristics: 406 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

WVMLStaffPicks Jun 06, 2013

Felix Castor is no longer working as an exorcist, but a job offer from the archives has him needing to know more. This ghost seems different than others he has come across. As the mystery unfolds with terrifying implications, Castor finds he needs to get the job done—before the job gets him. This dark urban fantasy novel will appeal to fans of Jim Butcher or Ben Aaronovitch.

j
jdsharpnack
Dec 05, 2010

Starts a little slow but I enjoyed the ending. If you enjoy Hellblazer, you will see similarities between this character and John Constantine.

d
desai
Mar 08, 2010

What a ride. A whodunit meets Buffy/Angel etc.

It was fun, interesting and the fantasy was realistic.

I would read the author again

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
SPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top