The Oxford Book of Canadian Short Stories in English

The Oxford Book of Canadian Short Stories in English

Book - 1986
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Oxford University Press
Margaret Atwood--one of Canada's leading writers--and Robert Weaver--the dean of Canadian anthologists--have pooled their talents to produce this authoritative, as well as historically and regionally representative anthology of Canadian short stories.
Arranged chronologically from the 19th century to the present, this volume of forty stories offers the finest examples of Canadian writing, including a story by Margaret Atwood herself ("The Sin Eater"), as well as stories by Morley Callaghan ("Last Spring They Came Over"), Mavis Gallant ("The Ice Wagon Going Down the Street"), Margaret Laurence ("The Loons"), Alice Munro ("The Peace of Utrecht"), Mordecai Richler ("The Summer My Grandmother Was Supposed to Die"), Jane Rule ("Slogans"), Guy Vanderhaeghe ("Dancing Bear"), and many others. Drawing together some of the greatest stories in the English language, this anthology also features biographical notes and an index of authors.

Publisher: Toronto ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1986
Edition: Paperback ed
ISBN: 0195405970
Characteristics: xix, 436 p. ; 23 cm. : ill
Additional Contributors: Weaver, Robert 1921-
Atwood, Margaret 1939-


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SPL

To Top